10 Kenya Celebs Who Were Floored In 2022 General Elections

In any election, there must be a loser and a winner, so was Kenya’s 2022 general elections.

In these elections, Kenyan celebs who ventured into the politics were also not spared as some of them greatly lost to political bigwigs.

Here are Kenyan celebs who lost in 2022 general elections.

1. Bahati

Kevin Bahati aka Bahati lost to ODM candidate Anthony Oluoch who won the seat with a huge margin.

Singer Kevin Bahati Kioko had been involved in the push and pull after he was asked to step down in favor of the ODM candidate.

2. Jaguar

Charles Kanyi Jaguar lost the UDA ticket to Simon Mbugua during the nomination exercise. But went ahead to remain in the UDA campaign wagon.

The singer has went back to music.

3. Nixon Korir

Flamboyand city lawyer who is known for his flash lifestyle was floored by first time politics Jalang’o for the Lang’ata MP seat.

Nixon Korir who was the incumbent MP accepted defeat and went ahead to congratulate Jalang’o aka Phelix Odiwour

4. Koikai

Njamby Koikai, former Journalist and reggae host ditched media for politics and she faced it rough when she went for Dagoretti South MP seat

Mary Njambi Koikai alias Fyah Mummah conceded defeat for the Dagoretti South parliamentary.

She was defeated by John Kiarie, who was the incumbent. Before politics, John Kiarie used to work as a comedian.

5. MC Jessy

Comedian Jasper Muthomi alias MC Jessy conceded defeat in the South Imenti and decided to go back to his usual job.

Jasper Muthomi had gone for the independent ticket after losing the UDA ticket during the nominations.

However he lost it to  Dr. Shadrack Mwiti Ithinji of Jubilee party who won with a commanding lead

6. Musician Gabriel Kagundu, aka Gabu

Musician Gabriel Kagundu, monikered Gabu, has conceded defeat in the Woodley Kenyatta Golf Course ward race.

The artist, who was contesting under an ANC party ticket, conceded to Davidson Ngibuini ‘DNG’ who was contesting under a UDA ticket.

“I take this opportunity to congratulate the winner of the Woodley Member of County Assembly seat. In every race there is a winner and the one to accept the defeat,” Gabu wrote.

7. Nelson Havi

Former Law Society of Kenya (LSK) President Nelson Havi has conceded defeat in the Westlands parliamentary race.

Havi, who was vying under a UDA ticket conceded to Timothy ‘Tim’ Wanyonyi of ODM party. He lauded him for his victory saying that Westlands residents deserve his leadership better and wished him a good tenure in office.

8. Millicent Omanga

Millicent Omanga lost her seat for her ODM counterpart Esther Passaris who won the Nairobi Women rep seat. Milly conceded defeat on a UDA ticket.

9. Detective Jane Mugo

Despite going on an Independent ticket, she still lost her bid to be Kirinyaga county women rep.

She had unsuccessfully tried to vie on a UDA ticket before losing it during nominations.

10. Chidzuga

Former primetime TV news anchor, Mwanaisha Chidzuga, lost the Matuga Constituency parliamentary race. Chidzuga was up against a host of contestants including her older brother, Hassan Chidzuga.

Ms Chidzuga, who worked for KBC, K24 and BBC, vied on United Democratic Alliance (UDA). Following the announcement of the results, she made claims of vote rigging.

11. Loise Kim

Popular Kikuyu gospel artist lost her bid to be the Kiambu women rep when she lost it

12. Margaret Wanjiru

Former Starehe MP Wanjiru lost it to Senator Edwin Sifuna who won the Nairobi senatorial race

13. Igathe

Jubilee’s candidate Igathe lost it to Johnson Sakaja who decided to become the Nairobi governor in style!

Related Articles

Back to top button