Kipchoge Ups His Game, To Face-off With Messi In London

Kenya’s top athlete man Eliud Kipchoge is in London up for another lucrative award.

The World marathon record holder Kipchoge has been nominated for the 2019 Laureus Sportsman of the year award.

In October 2019, Kipchoge made Kenyans proud when he clocked 1hr and 59 seconds during his INEOS 1:59 Challenge in Austria, Vienna

His nominations comes after he had just won the World Athletics Athlete of 2019.

He is also the winner of  IAAF Male Athlete of the Year awards as well as the BBC Overseas Sports Personality of the Year.

Besides the London nominee, he is also a nominee of the 2019 Safaricom Sportsman of the Year Award (SOYA) whose gala ceremony will be held in Mombasa on January 24, 2020.

All the winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards will be revealed at ceremony to be held in Berlin on February 17.

Here are the shortlisted nominees in all the categories of the Laureus World Sports Awards.

Laureus World Sportsman of the Year

1. Lewis Hamilton (UK) – Motor Racing

2. Eliud Kipchoge (Kenya) – Athletics

3. Marc Marquez (Spain) – Motor Cycling

4. Lionel Messi (Argentina) – Football

5. Rafael Nadal (Spain) – Tennis

6. Tiger Woods (USA) – Golf

Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year

1. Simone Biles (USA) – Gymnastics

2. Allyson Felix (USA) – Athletics

3. Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce (Jamaica) – Athletics

4. Naomi Osaka (Japan) – Tennis

5. Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Football

6. Mikaela Shiffrin (USA) – Skiing

Laureus World Team of the Year

1. Liverpool (UK) – Football

2. Mercedes-AMG Petronas F1 Team (Germany) – Motor Racing

3. South Africa Men’s Rugby Team

4. Spain Men’s Basketball Team

5. Toronto Raptors (Canada) – Basketball

6. United States Women’s Football Team

Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year

1. Bianca Andreescu (Canada) – Tennis

2. Egan Bernal (Colombia) – Cycling

3. Coco Gauff (USA) – Tennis

4. Japan Men’s Rugby Team

5. Andy Ruiz Jr (USA) – Boxing

6. Regan Smith (USA) – Swimming

Laureus World Comeback of the Year

1. Nathan Adrian (USA) – Swimming

2. Sophia Florsch (Germany) – Motor Racing

3. Christian Lealiifano (Australia) – Rugby

4. Kawhi Leonard (USA) – Basketball

5. Liverpool (UK) – Football

6. Andy Murray (UK) – Tennis

Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability

1. Omara Durand (Cuba) – Athletics

2. Diede de Groot (Netherlands) – Wheelchair Tennis

3. Oksana Masters (USA) – Skiing and Cycling

4. Jetze Plat (Netherlands) – Triathlon and Cycling

5. Manuela Schar (Switzerland) – Wheelchair Athletics

6. Alice Tai (UK) – Swimming

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year

1. Italo Ferreira (Brazil) – Surfing

2. Nyjah Huston (USA) – Skateboarding

3. Chloe Kim (USA) – Snowboarding

4. Rayssa Leal (Brazil) – Skateboarding

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button