List Of 21 Kenyan Government Ministries In 2019

Under the new 2010 constitution, Kenyan government led by President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy William Ruto had the following ministries as of 2019.

List Of 21 Kenyan Government Ministries In 2019

1. Ministry of Interior and Co-ordination of National Government 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Dr. Fred Okengo Matiang’i, E.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Patrick K. Ole Ntutu
Principal Secretary: Dr. Eng. Karanja Kibicho, C.B.S. (Interior)
Principal Secretary: Maj.Gen.(Rtd) Gordon Kihalangwa, C.B.S. (Immigration & Citizen Service)
Principal Secretary: Ms. Zainabu Abdallah Hussein, C.B.S. (Correctional Services)

2. Ministry of Defence

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. Raychelle A. Omamo, E.G.H.
Principal Secretary: Mr. Torome Saitoti

3. The National Treasury and Planning

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Henry K. Rotich, E.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Nelson Gaichuhie
Principal Secretary: Dr. Kamau Thugge, C.B.S. (Treasury)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Julius Monzi Muia, E.B.S. (Planning)

4. Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. Dr. Monica K. Juma, C.B.S.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Ababu Namwamba, E.G.H.
Principal Secretary: Amb. Macharia Kamau, M.B.S.

5. Ministry of Industry, Trade & Co-operatives 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Peter Munya, M.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: –
Principal Secretary: Ms. Betty Chemutai Maina, C.B.S. (Industrialization)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Chris Kiptoo, C.B.S. (Trade) 
Principal Secretary: – Mr. Ali Noor Ismail, CBS

6. Ministry of Health

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Sicily K. Kariuki, E.G.H. 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Dr. Rashid A. Aman
Principal Secretary: Ms. Susan N. Mochache, CBS

7. Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Irrigation 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Mwangi Kiunjuri, M.G.H. 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Dr. Andrew Tuimur, C.B.S.
Principal Secretary: Dr. Richard L. Lesiyampe, C.B.S. (Crop Development)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Harry Kimutai (Livestock)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Hamadi Iddi Boga (Agriculture Research)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Japheth Micheni Ntiba, C.B.S. (Fisheries, Aquaculture & the Blue Economy)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Fred K. Segor, C.B.S. (Irrigation)

8. Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development and Public Works

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. James Wainaina Macharia, E.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Christopher Obure, E.G.H.
Principal Secretary: Ms. Esther Koimet, C.B.S. (Transport)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Julius Korir (Infrastructure)
Principal Secretary: Prof. Paul Maringa Mwangi, C.B.S. (Public Works)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Charles Hinga Mwaura (Housing & Urban Development)
Principal Secretary: Mrs. Nancy Karigithu, C.B.S. (Shipping & Maritime)

9. Ministry of Devolution and the ASALS 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Eugene Wamalwa, E.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Amb. Tuneya Hussein Dado
Principal Secretary: Mr. Charles Talengo Sunkuli, C.B.S. (Devolution)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Michael PKopus Powon, C.B.S. (ASALS)

10. Ministry of Information, Communication and Technology (ICT)

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Joe Mucheru 
Chief Administrative Secretary: –
Principal Secretary: Mrs. Fatuma Hirsi, C.B.S. (Broadcasting & Telecommunication)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Jerome Okoth Ochieng’ (Information Communication Technology)

11. Ministry of Sports, Culture and Heritage

Cabinet Secretary: HON. Amb. Amina C. Mohamed, EGH 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Hassan Noor Hassan, E.B.S.
Principal Secretary: Amb. Peter Kirimi Kaberia, C.B.S. (Sports)
Principal Secretary: Ms. Josephta Mukobe, C.B.S. (Culture & Heritage)

12. Ministry of Education

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Prof. George A.O Magoha 
Chief Administrative Secretary & Principal Secretary: Hon. Prof. Colletta Suda, C.B.S., FKNAS (University Education and Research) 
Principal Secretary: Dr. Richard Belio Kipsang (Early learning & Basic Education)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Kevit Desai (Vocational & Technical Training)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Alfred Cheruiyot (Post-Training & Skills Development)

13. Ministry of East African Community (EAC) and Regional Development

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Adan Abdulla Mohamed, E.G.H. 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Ken Obura
Principal Secretary: Dr. Margaret Mwakima, CBS (East African Community (EAC))
Principal Secretary: – (Northern Corridor Development)

14. Ministry of Labour and Social Protection

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Amb. Ukur Yattani Kanacho
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Abdul Bahari
Principal Secretary: Eng. Peter Kiplagat Tum, OGW (Labour)
Principal Secretary: Mr. Nelson Marwa, E.B.S. (Social Protection, Pensions & Senior Citizens Affairs)

15. Ministry of Tourism and Wildlife 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Najib Balala, E.G.H. 
Chief Administrative Secretary: –
Principal Secretary: Mr. Joe Okudo, C.B.S. (Tourism)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Susan Koech, C.B.S. (Wildlife)

16. Ministry of Environment and Forestry

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Keriako Tobiko, C.B.S.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Mohamed Ibrahim Elmi, E.G.H.
Principal Secretary: Dr. Ibrahim M. Mohamed C.B.S. (Environment & Forestry)

17. Ministry of Water and Sanitation

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Simon Chelugui
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Winnie Waceke Guchu
Principal Secretary: Mr. Joseph Wairagu Irungu, C.B.S.

18. Ministry of Lands and Physical Planning

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Farida Chepchumba Karoney 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Gideon Mung’aro
Principal Secretary: Dr. Nicholas Muraguri, C.B.S.

19. Ministry of Energy

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Charles Keter, E.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Simon Kachapin 
Principal Secretary: Dr. Eng. Joseph K. Njoroge, C.B.S.

20. Ministry of Petroleum and Mining

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. John K. Munyes, E.G.H. 
Chief Administrative Secretary: Dr. Eng. John Mosonik, C.B.S.
Principal Secretary: Mr. Andrew Kamau Ng’ang’a (Petroleum)
Principal Secretary: Mr. John Murangi Omenge (Mining)

21. Ministry of Public Service, Youth and Gender 

Cabinet Secretary: Hon. Prof. Margaret Kobia, M.G.H.
Chief Administrative Secretary: Hon. Rachel W. Shebesh
Principal Secretary: – (Public Service)
Principal Secretary: Ms. Safina Kwekwe (Gender)
Principal Secretary: Dr. Francis O. Owino (Youth)

Source – Kenyan Government

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button